Sledding on Vatnajökull

I know, you’re thinking, “why does that name sound familiar”?  Well it was in the news recently …  Grimsvötn Volcano, which recently erupted, lies under this huge glacier.  Three days before this little hiccup, I was blasting around on a snowmobile on the eastern edge of this massive ice field. 

I arrived at the Vagnsstadir Hostel on the southeastern coast on Tuesday night to discover there was a snowmobile tour the following morning, so I signed up.  All of the tours I’d seen based in Reykjavik clearly stated 2 persons per snowmobile, so when we arrived at the line of sleds the following day, I was thrilled to discover that I didn’t have to share – I got one all to myself!!

Never having been on a skidoo before, I was a little hesitant at first…because there was just me on the wee machine, it was a bit bumpy (needed more weight in back)….but after 5 minutes I got the hang of it and was having a blast.  Soooo much fun!  Flying up ridges on full throttle and across the open “plains” … not sure how fast we were going, but I did glance down at one point and we were gliding across the snow at more than 60 km/h.  Got caught in a rut at one point, but refused to let the machine tip me off.

I think I had a huge grin plastered on my face for the entire time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ended the day with a wonderful lobster feast in nearby Höfn, after a dip at the local pool/hot pot. 

Definitely was a “me” day… absolutely fabulous!!

Oh so good!!

~ by betweenthelatitudes on June 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
