Iceland?! Why??

 The conversation usually goes something like this:

“Where are you going for your holiday?”

“Iceland!”,  I say with a big grin.

And then I watch as the expression on their face changes from curiosity to confusion, trying to figure out if they heard me correctly, and then, the words –

“Iceland?!  Why??”

That is the response I get 4 times out of 5 when I tell people where I’m going.

So, in case you’re one of them…this is why:  waterfalls and volcanoes (I love volcanoes…as Laurie will attest) and puffins and deserts and hot springs and volcanoes and Northern Lights and columnar basalts and glaciers and reindeer and vast open spaces and volcanoes (did I mention that already?! Well, there are more than 30 of them!)

Nature untouched – magical and mystical.  A land where fairies and elves  and trolls are entrenched in their customs and history. It’s a place where the earth is alive and active (geologically speaking, a toddler).  And yes, there’s some fabulous music and art that comes out of that wee country with a total population of just over 300,000.

Here, take a look at this … it will give you a sneak peak into what awaits … and yes, maybe I’ll be dancing on a glacier too!

~ by betweenthelatitudes on April 28, 2011.

2 Responses to “Iceland?! Why??”

  1. ooo, that is what i want you to bring me please. a piece of a glacier 😛

    Like

  2. Waterfalls and volcanos . . .I’m envious already!! Cool video clip 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
